Captain Jack’s is Open Sunday - Thursday 11 AM to 4 PM. Instruction is based on individual needs and can be flexible outside of normal operating hours with staff approval. We observe all major holidays. Inclement weather is based on PCC SE campus closures.
Our class hours total 500, of which 350 are theory & 150 applied instruction which goes above & beyond the state requirements of 360 hours. This training will allow the artist to graduate with the necessary credentials to become a state-licensed tattoo practitioner upon successful completion of the State Board Exam. Training will be divided into two main disciplines: “Theory” and “Applied Instruction”. Theory training will consist of 350 hours of combined bookwork, video, classroom and one-on-one staff training. Applied Instruction will consist of 150 hours of hands-on experience provided with staff guidance.
Completion of these segments will provide the student with an in-depth understanding of the tattoo industry and Oregon State laws, rules and regulations. Other subjects to be covered include: history, basic art and design, tattoo equipment and supplies, safety, sanitation, sterilization, business operations and Oregon laws pertaining to the tattoo industry. Course completion will be based on state requirements in conjunction with the school’s catalog requirements and each student’s individual needs. Upon successful completion of our program, the student will have built their own portfolio that they can use for future employment options.
This is to secure your spot in school. The remaining balance is due no later than the first day of class unless other arrangements are made with the school director.
STATE LICENSING INFORMATION
$50.00………. Written Test
$100.00……… Skills Assessment Test
$250.00……... Total Test Fees
Failed sections of the examination may be retaken at the next available examination date and time, as scheduling allows. Retaking a failed examination requires registration and payment of the examination fees. Applicants who fail after three attempts shall be required to complete an additional 100 hours of instruction in theory.
$50.00……… Licensure (once you've passed your exams)
Oregon Health Licensing (OHLA): 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320 Salem, Oregon 97301-1287, (503)-378-8667, email@example.com The Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission: 255 Capitol Street NE, Third Floor, Salem Oregon, 97310 (503)-378-5690
The Art of Tattooing at Captain Jack’s Tattoo School will prepare the student for a career in the tattoo industry. After obtaining certification from our program, a student may become a licensed tattoo artist, pending passing the state examination. Other potential career paths include: tattoo shop manager, a tattoo shop owner and tattoo retail and distribution, to name a few!
The program at Captain Jack’s is designed to be completed in 6 months or less, 7 months if part-time. There is a 1 year MAXIMUM set forth by which each student is required to complete our program in its entirety. If this is not achieved, further tuition will be due to continue at a rate of $25.00 per hour of instructional and studio time used. Typically 6 months is the average time for completion, but we have doubled this time frame to leave room for those who may need extra time and instruction.
We offer on-site WIFI reserved for students and faculty, intended for the sole purpose of learning. We also offer a library of various art books and literature for our students and they can be reserved at the instructor’s discretion, otherwise we ask that they do NOT leave the premises. We have various art-flash on discs and paper that students have access to as well.
A student looking to transfer from another licensed tattoo school must follow the same interview and admissions guidelines as a new student. The school will follow the same Admissions Process and Requirements listed above. They must also provide official transcripts from the school they are transferring from. A transfer student who is accepted into our program will be credited the appropriate hours according to the transcripts provided. Please be advised that additional Theory coursework hours may be required to meet our school's educational standards. A student transferring in will be credited the appropriate amount of procedures based on our portfolio guidelines and the number of completed procedures listed on their transcripts. We will compute what coursework the student has successfully completed with a passing grade of C or better, that also comparers to our curriculum. After the director has reviewed the student’s submissions, the tuition cost will be adjusted appropriately. Please note that transfer credits are valid for consideration for 2 years from the date of original successful completion.